Day 2 at the Juyoh hotel - Meeting people for the - Reisverslag uit Tokio, Japan van Felissa Markhorst - WaarBenJij.nu Day 2 at the Juyoh hotel - Meeting people for the - Reisverslag uit Tokio, Japan van Felissa Markhorst - WaarBenJij.nu

Day 2 at the Juyoh hotel - Meeting people for the

Door: Felissa

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Felissa

28 Augustus 2013 | Japan, Tokio

I was really afraid to go out on my own. The country as well as the city and area are all new to me and I didn’t where to go or what to do. Everything is in Japanese kanji ( the chinese signs) so I can’t read a thing and I don’t know the difference between a bar, restaurant or house. After spending most of my timel in the hotel I finally had the courage to go out and find a place to eat. I knew I had seen one the other day when walking from the station to the hotel, so I decided to go there. At first I was really shy and afraid to say anything when entering the store, so I just nodded in a friendly way and sat down. After a while the customers started waving at me and the waitress asked me if I wanted anything to drink and that it was a present from the customers. Of course I was a little bit shocked and I didn’t know wether to accept it or not. I chose for oolong-cha (a type of ice tea) and the customers started talking to me. I tried to give the best answer possible, but it was pretty difficult. I know some words, but of course you need more than basics, to tell what you’re here for etc. They probably liked to talk to me and complimented me for being able to eat with hasi(chopsticks). One of the customers gave me a sensu(fan) and when I wanted to pay and leave the restaurant the waitress told me I didn’t have to pay anything and that it was a present from the customers. I thought it was really kind and felt a little bit bad for receiving so much, so I went to the hotel and got some “ Dutch stroopwafels” to give to them. It had taken me a while to explain that I was coming back, but the waitress understood and explained it. At half past 9 I still didn’t feel hungry, but I thought I should go out and get something so I went downstairs and asked a receptionist if I could eat something at the hotel. He told me that it was possible and sent me to the kitchen. I asked him for a menu, but then he asked me what I wanted to eat.. So there is probably no menu and he can order something from some place, but I have to say what it is I want then. Of course this is difficult if I don’t know that many Japanese dishes. I told him I’d go out for dinner, but there isn’t that much around and he told me about a place which was difficult for me to find. I was a little bit afraid to walk around all by myself at night so I also didn’t want to go too far away from the hotel. It was then that I saw the word Snack on a building. I was really happy and went in there. It looked like some sort of bar and people were singing. When I told Yunina about this on Wednesday she started laughing at me. Apparantely snack is a place for old people who sing and where they can meet people their age and it has nothing to do with snacks or food at all. I just thought the lady didn’t serve food at that time anymore.. I decided to go to a store nearby the hotel and bought a dessert, fruit and a real snack which was a japanse sweet. I brought it with me and the receptionist asked me wether I found something and when I told him what I bought he asked me if I wanted to use the Japanese styled tea room, because the Japanese sweet tated good with green tea. So I did.. When I enjoyed my food someone entered the tea room and started talking to me. It was someone from the hotel and I felt happy to make a new friend. We went to Asakusa, but it was difficult to make pictures, because it was already dark. I wanted to try my luck and at the temple I had to shake a box that would give me the number of the box I had to open. I was so afraid of getting the bad luck one, but I actually got the best of luck! I felt so happy at that moment. I prayed at the shrine and remembered that Yunina told me to throw 10 and 5 yen into the box, before doing so.

  • 31 Augustus 2013 - 16:45

    Debbie:

    Hahaha! Geweldig om te lezen Sies.

  • 02 September 2013 - 10:25

    Linnie:

    Sounds like really you :))

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Felissa

Hiya, Ik ben Felissa, 22 en studeer Engels aan de hogeschool Rotterdam. Ik zit nu momenteel in Tokyo, Japan. Dit is mijn minor en ik zal hier 7 maanden verblijven. (ik houd mijn dagboek bij in het Engels)

Actief sinds 31 Aug. 2013
Verslag gelezen: 390
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11719

Voorgaande reizen:

27 Augustus 2013 - 29 Maart 2014

First time in Japan!!!!

Landen bezocht: